Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:28 p.m. - Saturday, Feb. 13, 2010
BoA Identity Review 10/10!!!
Okay, after I just totally released my frustration with BoA fans about this album, I feel really bad. I went on Boajjang and just couldn't help myself. I called those people jack***es. I couldn't help it. I know everyone is entitled to their opinion. But this person had the nerve to say that people who thought her latest album was "good music" were "delusional" just because they like BoA. In my opinion,you can't just like a singer because you like them. Now you can give them more of a chance, but if you like the music, you like it. Simple. And I said "Simple" a lot on that website. I'm kind of scared to go back for fear of being flamed. Edit:The problem with many international fans who are doing all the talking don't even understand the lyrics. They are just listening to the beat, which many international fans have the habit of doing, even with a language they do understand. But because this is something she made herself, this is art, so it's important to taste the piece of art before judging, that includes the lyrical content and the emotions behind the music.

Okay, but enough. Back on topic. I wanted to dedicate this to my review of BoA's new album "Identity" out in Stores Now!!! I have to say I absolutely LOVE IT! But many others have different opinions.

Have a listen:



If you want to listen to the previews, go to the PREVIOUS ENTRY!!!!
I have to say that I DO recognize the concern of the BoA fans. BoA's career hasn't been doing as well since...well, everybody says since the album "Outgrow" but I say since "My Name." Since BoA even changed her image, style, and GREW UP people have been less and less supportive of her new music. And everybody has their own taste. Many people feel that she just doesn't give the same energy that she used to. Some feel her music doesn't have the same passion as it used to during her debut days. The only thing I agree with is that she doesn't have the same energy. She has a NEW KIND OF ENERGY. A more grown-up one. Many people just can't seem to let BoA grow up and be herself. But also, I recognize, that some people who were fans of the "fake, pop icon" BoA that Avex created....well, aren't fans of the self-produced BoA. The music IS different, and so now, BoA has to reach a whole new audience. This is the kind of music black people like. People keep looking for Britney Spears, Madonna, Lady Gaga, etc.

But see that's the exact reason I love this album. I thought this album was going to suck, but I ended up thinking better of this album than I did Outgrow. I only generally liked two songs on Outgrow, which is why I can understand why her career plummeted after that album...but, this album has potential to get BoA back up. This album, first off, is the real BoA, and it shows. It shows in her performances on the MVs, and even Live, though she made some mistakes. This album is most similar to her work in America to some degree, as BoA's style is easily represented. But the difference is the music is REAL.

The problem with some of her fans is 1) They don't feel she is ready to produce her own music. Why? Because they feel it won't sell with her taste in music. But I say why not? If you're going to like BoA, you might as well like the real BoA. If you decide you don't like this album, then BoA is not the singer for you. But she can't be someone she isn't. People are starting to create their own music now, with all these Net Labels. Even if it doesn't sell right now, I think it's because she keeps reaching for her same audience who only liked the pop music she was forced to sing. Now she has to reach a new audience. I personally like this album better than all her old stuff. Excuse me, but I felt she was more mainstream then, and trying to be another one of those school girl pop icons designed for pedophiles to observe...She was just like everybody else. Now, though she's still a bit mainstream, it doesn't feel like it because she individualized her music....because it's hers, it's her taste, it's her style.

BoA is forced to decide this: Is it better to make the music the public wants, and keep her popularity, or make the music SHE wants, and dwindle in her popularity....

2)They want her to sing teen pop...when she's clearly 24 years old and not a teen. It's time for adult contemporary to take over...and so I agree with this large step into adulthod. But just like MJ, people just can't let their favorite singers grow up, and that's the problem with being a child star, even in the acting world.

Now to the reviews of the song:

1)This is Who I Am-I have to say I AM very pleased with this song. It has an oldies feel to it. Very grown-up and polished. Musically, kind of theater-like in tone. It's catchy, and I enjoy it in a subtle way. It's a good intro to the album. It reminds me of an opening or title song to a musical, and it makes it seem like she's about to tell us her story. The lyrics are cute, telling of the days where she would wear tight ponytails in Quincy, or squeeze into tight jeans in Valenti. It's emotional really.10/10

2)Easy-This song is disarranged, but for a good reason. But it is catchy too. I feel it's one of those songs I can bump to loudly in my car. It's very upbeat. It's more Britney Spears-like. Hard-core. My favorite part is the beginning, and the chorus and bridge...okay, what makes up a song, really? But this song seems to represent her crazy life. But it's actually a message to the kiddies to use their life wisely 10/10.

3)Bump Bump-Definitely one of my favorites. I feel it is the most upbeat song on the album. And funny thing the lyrics show BoA's attitude toward her life now. And I think this should be directed to some of those hater fans. BoA is really alone in this business. I think that people should really understand the lyrics of songs before they bash them entirely. This song has a lot of meaning. I feel the song brings out her personality and energy, and it still keeps her grown-up style that she wants to release. It's jazzy, going don into African classical roots is cool to me. But of course, some people don't appreciate that. The lyric that stands out is "In the end, I'm all alone."10/10

4)Lazer-Almost everybody loves this song. Go on any message board for favorite songs on this album, and everyone will give this approval in their own special way. I personally love this song. I feel it is upbeat, keeps the old BoA and new BoA compiled into one whole BoA. It's very futuristic, and I just love the tune. It's catchy. It's flirty, and just something to bump in a club, and at the same time just enjoy it home. It has a far-off feel too, a mystic feel I would say. It's definitely memorable. This song seems to represent BoA's edgy attitude that people have missed over for the "fake" self Avex has produced. 10/10

5)interlude-shoes...that's all I have to say...and door...

6)Is this love-Very mellow laid back song. It reminds me of the songs in XXXHolic. It is soothing, though it doesn't elevate too much, it still is pretty good. It doesn't start off strong like most of all of BoA's songs. It jumps right into the song. It has it's charming parts, including the chorus. I think this song is like a Tango type of song, or ballroom dancing song. I feel the vibe from this song. Sexy, Tango twist. The lyrics are interesting, and also sexy and slick 10/10.

7)Interlude 2-flashing lights....no, wait, cameras...photoshoots? I love charades...

8)(translate) Cat Love-It seems to me that this should be called BOA, since she says it a lot. But I'm guessing she compares herself to a cat, since she loves cats so much. This is also putting emphasis that BoA is an individual much like Bump Bump and This is Who I am. She's trying to show people how her life really is. I think BoA is trying to reach out and speak her mind, but some of the people listening, sadly, don't understand her...mostly because they don't speak Japanese...So they're listening to the tune without listening to the meaning behind the tune. This song reminds me of ancient pop in America(circa late 90s). People like Dream and Spice Girls comes back. Or maybe it's early Y2K I'm looking for...Trust me, this is a compliment. I loved my 90s music. I feel this music is catchy and party-like to. I can see this bumping anywhere. BoA sure does like to party, right? But this song can't emphasize enough her slick demeanor and who she is.10/10

9.(translation)I want to Defend it~White Wishes~-This seems to be a favorite among fans as well. I think it reminds people of some old songs during the Outgrow era and before. But see, Outgrow was my least favorite album, though I have to admit, there are some elements in this album that are similar, I still think of this as the better version. I love this song personally. It has a lot of energy and sounds powerful. 10/10

10.(translation)The End and (album version)- I think BoA sings well in it. It's one of the more laid-back R&B songs. I'd say it leans more on R&B. BUT I LOVE the lyrics! So creative! 10/10

11. Fallin-It's definitely a keeper. Yea, it's a little repetitive, I admit. And it's heavy with auto tunes, but not the annoying American kind. It's one of those epic songs. It's also far-off,and reminds me of Whitney Houston's I'm Every Woman in tune, not in lyrical content though. It just has the same feeling. Like a celebration type of song. It's catchy too. Very good. The lyrics are beautiful and touching. 9/10

12.My All-It seems a lot of people like this song. I think it reminds people of BoA's old ballads. It reminds me of a cross between My Prayer and Be with you. I think it's professionally sung, and I love the oldies touch to it. It has a jazzy feeling to me, too. This seems to be directed to the pressure from the fans. 10/10

13) Possibility-Definitely one of my most favorite. I'd say this has a slick hip-hop/R&B sound. Definitely my roots! And I love it. I love this blending of culture. This song is about adult love, I have to get the translation of the interview above, but I think that's the message. This song is excellent. I love the vocals, the dancing, and it's really addictive and catchy. The lyrics are AWESOME. 10/10

Overall, I think this album was worth it if you ask me. It reminds me of the Do the Motion days, and I think everyone's getting the same vibe. At first, I didn't like Do the Motion. I remember saying to myself that she lacked the same energy she used to have. But after listening to it for awhile, it grew on me. See, my problem was I was rating the album based on the lively sound of her previous work, rather than for what the song really was. Yes, I liked the old BoA somewhat, but I realized that I had to look at the new BoA as a totally different singer from before, and not judge just because I didn't want variety, change, and BoA to grow up. I didn't even try to adjust my ears. I also had to recognize true art.

This album screams adult contemporary. Her old days reminded me of music that you'd only see on Shojo and Shonens. This type of music is something yu'd see on Seinen and Josei. That's why I know alot of people won't like it. Just like a lot of people can't seem to understand Seinen and Josei anime, they can't seem to fathom this type of music. It's because they're not mature enough to handle it.

Even though this isn't my favorite album, it is one of the only FULL Japanese albums that I have. The only albums that I've gotten every single song from was Valenti, Love and Honesty, BoA Debut/Deluxe,and Identity. I'd say out of all of my favorites, I like the least amount of songs on Identity. I liked all of Valenti, I only specifically felt two songs, Kokoro No Tegami and Some Day One Day on Love and Honesty were a waste of time, and I loved every song on BoA's debut except Dress off. I did like Listen to My Heart and Girls on Top a lot. It was impressive. But I didn't get every single song, and I can't say I like every single song.

As far as her Korean songs, I feel that a lot of people were more into her new stuff like Girls on Top, which had energy and edge. I also think it was the real BoA coming out. But that was also when she was about 19 years old...still a teenager. Now, she's 24. And this music is perfect for an adult. I was only a big fan of Atlantis Princess and Girls on Top in Korea.

Overall this gets an 10/10 from me. GREAT. It is a mixture of many styles, tunes, and yet, it still leans to an all new BoA...a more urban one. It reminds me of the album Id; Peace B in the urban way, except she wrote some songs on Identity. It has a mixture of pop hits, soft ballads, R&B, Jazz, Rock, just everything. I can say it has it's not everyone's taste, but the realness of it all is what makes this a work of art. The lyrics translated are refreshing, and as someone put it on Boajjang, it's like BoA's letter to her fans.

~Over and Out~

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!