Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:15 a.m. - Saturday, Feb. 06, 2010
BoA's Album Identity Feb. 10, 2010!!!

These are the tracks to BoA's latest album "Identity." It's the first album BoA had more creative control over, and I heard she produced this herself. I absolutely LOVE IT! I love it better than all her old stuff. The biggest thing I like is that BoA is being herself, and not being some fake pop star that doesn't even write her own music or wear the clothes she really likes to wear.

I know some fans are going to have something to say because they like the fake BoA, but hopefully, they are replaced with fans who appreciate real music instead of fake artists, real creativity instead of LABEL control, and the real BoA, and not SM and Avex's version of her. BoA might gain some new fans from her change, and when these fans like her, they'll REALLY like HER.

I think this album is BoA's struggle to find herself in the music world separate from the image she has been put under. I think she realized that her old image is what's holding her back.

I think people are really concerned with BoA's sales, because they have declined. But look at the music industry! So has everybody's. With the creation of Net labels (or in other words, anybody can make a song and get famous off youtube and other places), Record Labels are using business, and people who are under them are losing the support because the labels can't afford to fund them. So everyone's forced to produce their own music. I personally think this is better. When record labels run things, the artist seems less of an "artist" and more of a fake "entertainer." Music is about expression, but if the label controls how you express your music, well, the point is missing, right?

BoA was forced into this cutesy school-girl image, and swept into the pop craze of early Y2K. Now, BoA wants control. She knows she's a tomboy, she knows she like R&b and hip-hop, and pop/urban. And she knows she's tired of being looked at as a little girl when she's 24 years old!

I personally think this album is better than all of her other albums, not only because it's her actual self, but because the music is original, it's interesting, and I love the songs. I can see myself listening to many of the songs for a lifetime.

So give it a chance. It's actually pretty good.

Well, gotta finish my anime, and finish Kingdom Hearts. I know I'm late..

~Over and Out~

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!