Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:59 p.m. - Monday, Jul. 05, 2010
The Last Airbender Needs Racebending???
Yes, I'm back with everything Asian. I've actually been between this blog and my wordpress blog http://soratothamax.wordpress.com

If you would like to check that out.

But today, I'm talking about the Last Airbender. I know you were waiting for this one. Well, I haven't seen it yet, but I have been scoping around trying to see what it was like and this is what has come up:

http://Racebending.com.

This is a way to bring attention to the racial discrimination in the movie The Last Airbender. All of the heroes were white, when clearly in the Last Airbender the culture is based on Inuit and Asian culture, particularly Chinese. And though the face structures are similar, it is obvious that they don�t look much like the characters.

Of course in most live actions they don�t. But I guess since Paramount hasn�t been doing well in the recession, they want to get it to sell. And a white face sells. It�s a bit interesting, I don�t know the real circumstance. I will be doing my own research.

I don�t think it can be compared to Dragonball Evolution. I mean, not only was Goku NOT Asian, but he just didn�t look anything like Goku. Bulma was totally off, and so was Master Roshi, who lacked the gray hair. And Piccolo�sigh�I don�t know.

But with Avatar, the faces look a bit similar. And they probably played the role. But it would be better if they cast a group of people who were actually from the culture, rather than slapping a Caucasian and making them pretend to be Asian.

Maybe some of them were part Asian�I heard Aang was, but they just don�t look the part. They have to add more diversity in order to attract more people.

I was just upset Tauft wasn�t in it. The casting is shocking, and it�s ashame the only one who is South Asian was Zuko, but it is an American cartoon after all�

But I hope the movie was close to the show in story too. I�m not one to go around claiming racism, but gosh, why not place an Inuit or Asian in the movie. This is the 21st Century, right?

~Over and Out~

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!