Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:02 p.m. - Wednesday, Mar. 07, 2012
Tales from Earthsea
I have recently been watching another Miyazaki and Ghibli film.

*The movie is for all audiences 10 and up for the mild violence and blood.

I found this movie to be just as good as any Miyazaki movie. When you watch so many of them, you would expect them to become predictable. Though I will admit that the same elements in this movie are in any Miyazaki movie.

1) "Field Mouse" girls, who later become heroines
2)Wizards and Magic, including shape-shifting, especially into a particular bird
3)ignorant, gossipy women and douche bag guards
4) Dragons
5)Slimy characters, particularly black slime

The one thing I noticed in this movie as well as all Miyazaki movies is that the ending isn't what I would call dramatic. There's normally no epic battle, but normally there's just a simple "confrontation" with the antagonist of the story.

The main difference to this story is that the focus is on a male hero rather than a female one. But he still gets a taste of that "female" glory even in this movie.

This movie focuses on 17 year old Arren, a boy who murders his father and steals his father's sword. He ends up traveling, running into a powerful Archmage named Sparrow Hawk. Sparrow Hawk is on a voyage trying to find out what's wrong with Earthsea. There have been many disasterous plagues, and he's convinced that it has something to do with the balance of the world being tampered with.

It's an excellent movie that even I can't fully describe in full detail. You'd have to watch it to fully appreciate it.

10/10. You can also read the books by Ursela K. Le Guin.

~Over and Out~

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!