Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:28 a.m. - Monday, Nov. 28, 2011
Ghost Hound Review 9/10
Wow, it's been how long since I've written an anime review? Lol. I apologize for my absence. I've been so busy with many other things. But recently I've been watching another one of my horror animes. This time I watched Ghost Hound.

*The following anime is a Shonen and meant for a younger male audience, though anyone can enjoy this*

Story-The story can be quite confusing. It seems to jump all over the place at times. It's a psychological horror, so it does play with the mind a bit. The story begins with Taro dreaming about his late sister who died in 1996. She and her brother were kidnapped, and she died in the process of being locked in an old hospital. Ever since, he and his family struggled to get over it. With the help of a psychologist named Mr. Harata, Taro has been able to overcome his fear. But mostly with the help of meeting two boys, he's been able to realize his dreams. The story is quite complex. It has it's shares of twists and turns. For those looking for a lot of action, this isn't the anime. This is truly a very thought-provoking anime. This anime is unique. You often forget that the demographic is shonen. But after awhile you can feel the idealism, which is pretty strong.

Characters-The characters are very well developed. There are typically three main protagonists, and really one main character. Each character has their own history and background that contributes to the story as a whole. One character is very quiet, one is extremely Emo in my opinion, and the other is the funny one with the Jekyll/Hyde personality. The three of them bring together an even wider cast of people with even more drama to add. Basically, the three characters' lives are full of drama. it contributes to what they become. Characters are stronger in this story, more than anything. The main character is a rare addition to the shonen genre.

Music-Perfect. It all goes well with the tone and feeling of the story.

Creators-One of the noteworthy creators of the anime was I.G.Productions, same creators of Ghost in the Shell. I believe the other designer created Serial Experiments Lain. So if you like those animes, you'll most definitely like this one.

Anime Design-Very little color. Bland colors really. It has a realistic color tone, or very plain. The most colorful one would be one of the main protagonist as he's the only one who wears a yellow jacket and has light brown hair. Otherwise, it's a pretty dreary looking anime. Quite gloomy looking, which is fitting in my opinion, considering this is a horror.

Overall, I give this anime a 9/10. It is very good, the story is confusing, but that truly adds to it's charm. Also, it can be quite forgettable. it's design is basic and bland, but it's definitely something I'd recommend to anyone for a one time deal. I think after watching it once, I was satisfied, and I don't truly care to watch it again.

~Over and Out~

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!