Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:11 p.m. - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Utada, Lauryn Hill, OhCurt..keepin it real!
Lauryn Hill and Utada

okay, this part of the entry is just an on some music artists who speak their mind. First, I just want to give it up to my girl Lauryn Hill. I was just listening to her CD, and I have to tell you, the girl is poetic. She keeps it nothing but realistic. I mean, her songs actually has meaning. This is how I feel about Utada, especially Exodus. A lot of Utada fans may not like that album, but that album, I can tell, was about her experiences being in America and experiencing how life is here in the States. Especially Exodus '04, which is about Utada being ready to come to America from Japan. Often on that album she mentions meeting Americans and having her Japanese influence. And although most people say her Japanese stuff is better, I don't think her Japanese stuff isn't "real" like her American stuff. Maybe the tunes aren't quite as mainstream, and her songs aren't "sexualized", but hey, if you've been married, why can't you talk about your experiences (Like B.Scott said)? They talk about everything else over here.
But back to Lauryn Hill. Her music expresses so much from having a broken heart, to how it feels to be in love, to singing about being a classy lady vs a slut to so much more. Her music is like telling a story, which is what music is supposed to do. It's just so...real...


OhCurt

This is someone on youtube, who has kept it real as well. I find him to be very interesting, and though I don't always agree with him, I do respect his opinions and the way he expresses them. He's not always reasonable (I have a feeling he unsubscribed from me when we had the "gay" conversation). But other than that, I think it's good to listen to people who think differently from you. It makes you more open-minded. Some topics he brings up are pretty good. But, he doesn't want a lot of friends or subscribers....so when t reaches a certain limit, you may be "x" off the list....which is understandable, because friends only want to send spam sometimes or promote themselves. I wonder how many people really visit my channel......I'm sure some people do....I hope many visit my journal....and my twitter....And i usually support those that do....but most won't return the favor...

you know what I find strange about the people following OhCurt, him included?

They want others not to judge them for being gay, and to not be prejudiced, but they judge me and are prejudiced against me because of my religion....I find that ironic......

Thats all, just an extra entry on people keeping it realistic in society....

~Over and Out~

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!