Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:24 p.m. - Sunday, Dec. 18, 2011
Little Nemo: Adventures in Slumberland Review 10/10
Okay, so I'm on to a new genre recently even though I'm still keeping in mind the amount of horrors still on my list. But now that I'm on my new story Treasure Hunt, I'm looking to adventure and steampunk movies for inspiration. Also, I got a new idea for a story. It's called The Tower, and I want it to have a Steampunk theme. So, I'm going to start watching these different animes. The anime I'm watching now is Little Nemo: Adventures in Slumberland.


Watch Little Nemo in Animation | View More Free Videos Online at Veoh.com

*This will be edited after the movie with an added review.

Yea, I finally watched the whole thing. YAY! "Separate". Haha can't get that part out of my head by the boomps. Another part-"Prince of Mischief"-Flip he he lol

So anyway, for a children's movie, this movie is really good. It's very family-oriented, morals and all. I will be focusing on the story, characters, Design&Creators, and musical numbers.

Story-The movie's setting begins in 1911 New York City. The story focuses on a boy who...well, dreams a lot. Little Nemo has been having a recurring of Nightmares. In the process of it all, he's been taking pies from the cupboard which is why he keeps having nightmares. It seems to have a negative effect on him. One day, a circus parade comes into town. Little Nemo enjoys himself meeting all of the people in the parade and getting to ride on the horse. That night, he's whisked away to Slumberland...oddly, by the same people who were in the parade, though he doesn't seem to recognize that they were the same people...Really, this story is very "dream-like". Nothing makes sense, but do dreams ever? It is exciting and adventurous, and for a kids' movie (and even some adult movies), you won't be disappointed. The story was very well-developed and it made you want to know what was going to happen next. Nothing was truly predictable, so it was pretty good.

Characters-There were so many interesting characters! All of them were great. Little Nemo reminds me of Pinocchio (Disney's version). Even the princess had her own feisty personality. Of course, my personal favorite was Flip, and you would have to watch the movie to understand why. he he. Even the Villain was pretty scary and cool for a kid's movie.

Design&Characters-The design is actually based off of American animation, which is probably pretty noticeable by now. It doesn't have the usual "Japanese-y" coloring or drawings. It was made by Tokyo Movie Shinsa. It has elements similar to Myazaki's movies, only Myazaki cuts the singing. I find this movie to be different in it's own right. It truly is a tale through his dreams. This is based off of the comic strip Winsor McCay, and his original movie.

Musical scores-Okay, this isn't Disney. We can't expect the deepest, most interesting, and well-sang songs ever. But we can say the songs were catchy and served it's purpose of telling the story. Some songs are still stuck in my head. If you go to the end of the movie, you'll be able to sing along in a kind of Karaoke portion of the video. The songs were really...dreamy and light-hearted.

Overall, I thought the movie was really good. It kept my attention. 10/10.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!