Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:15 a.m. - Wednesday, Nov. 30, 2011
Perfect Blue (10/10)
Okay, I watched another anime movie. I know they're coming at a rapid pace. And again, I'm sticking with the horror genre at this point. The anime movie I watched was called Perfect Blue.

*The Following Anime is meant for an adult audience, 17 years of age and older.*

Story and Characters-The story and characters were completely and totally well-developed. The characters played a major part in the story. This was a psychological horror, so let me tell you, there were a couple of mind farts throughout the whole movie. It began with a woman named Mima who left her famous pop group CHAM! to be an actress (I guess to take a new turn in her career, like all singers with meaningless lyrics do). She felt being a pop singer was suffocating, so she tried acting. Because she quit, she gets this stalker guy who's apparently a major fan that was mad that she quit, so he tries to kill her. But that is the least of her worries. As she's in this acting business, reality and fantasy gets twisted around...and she finds out the true enemy of her life. It's a really twisted horror, quite thrilling, and interesting. Excellent story development. The characters are easy to define and very realistic, aside from the insanity. All I have to say is this anime movie was one of the best I've seen and I've seen a good many.

Writes/directors- I just want to point out that Satoshi Kon is the director of this movie. That excited me to no end! Seriously, if you've read my other reviews about his work, you can see that none of them has gotten a low score from me. All of them have been good, and decidedly different from one another. I can never predict his endings. He truly is one of the best out there. And just like all of the best, he doesn't always get credit. If you don't know some of his works, try Paranoia Agent, and Memories. Yea, you get what I mean.

I definitely recommend this anime. It gets a 10/10 from me. Most definitely something I would watch again.

~Over and Out~

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!