Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:45 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009
How to Review Something (Animejournal style)
Okay, if you all like the way I review things or want my opinions on something,to see what im thinking, just let me know. This entry is dedicated to letting all my readers know that I am open to any discussion. If you prefer to comment on my animejournal2.livejournal.com than feel free to do so. I talk about the same things EXACTLY so there's no confusion. Okay, if you do decide to ask me for a review these are the several things I consider:

1) Romance
Romance is number one to me. Why? Its not that I like romance in movies (well not in every movie). But thats just it too. Romance is usually the center of the plot of a movie/show/video game/etc. It usually starts with romance or ends with it changing the story or controlling it. Look at even Kingdom Hearts. Sora was looking for Kairi and so he traveled worlds. And even Tyler Perry's movie Diary of a Mad Black woman. It had romance at the heart of the story. Also, a romance can make or break a story. if someone is dating someone in the movie i can always tell when there is chemistry between two lovers because almost 100 percent of the fan base will agree (there is only been one couple that I know that has achieved that success). Originality is important even in relationships in entertainment spheres. In real life, you can be with whoever you want to be, but on screen and in stories, it's best to put the characters with people they have chemistry with and who has a lot in common with them. Something that will be interesting and with someone who is important to the story, and not obviously created to just be a lover. Thats horrifying and makes the character seem almost forced to be in a relationship without personality or background. Commonality is what sets the relationship apart. If you make your main romantic partners have little in common (not nothing, but even little) (RanXShinichi *cough*) That is when fans become divided when someone new comes a-long that the main character can relate to. I tell you what, if the romance sucks, i'll stop watching some episodes and have a lot more negativity to add to it. I barely like romance in movies at all, as it gets sappy, but if its there, it better be a good one. (Ang and Katara was a mess on Avatar! Ugh!)

2)Rarity-How rare is the plot compared to all other animes? Is there something in this anime that I have never seen before? What makes this anime so special that it deserves to be talked about?

3) The story-Of course this is important. As I said before, I'm a versatile individual and I talk about random things and compare things with other things even if they are not in the same genre. You can tell when a story is good and going somewhere. If I'm reviewing it, i have patience for a storyline. I will sit and wait for a plot to form, even if I'm waiting for a whole hour until the movie gets some action. I don't just look for action, I look for drama, I love plot twists, and how well the story is put together. I love cliff-hangers because it leaves me wanting more. I don't particularly mind if a story is obvious, but if it isn't, that's even better. If the ending is obviously stupid, then it could ruin the whole show depending on what it is. But overall, I'm most lenient when it comes to stories as people have their own ways of interpreting stories and its an art form that can be expressed openly. (This doesn't apply to movies based on books) The ending is also everything as when it ends, it usually leaves a lasting impression on the observer/reader/audience. If the impression isn't so good, and the ending sucks, it won't even matter if the story was good. The ending is the last thing someone will remember. 4) Whether one thing is based off of another-If a book is based off of another, a movie,video game, etc, then I have to see first how good the book or other object was. If the book was a mess, then I don't care how far off the movie is from it because it needs improvement. If the book,anime etc is good, I'll consider this: a)does the main character look like the main character? did they change the main character(s)? b)did they put the most important parts in it? Did my favorite parts make it in? if not, do they compensate or explain why? c) (for voiceovers) Who is playing the roles? Are they familiar with the particular subject? Can they act? If its a fighting movie, can they fight? If its historical, is it accurate? How accurate it is? I don't mind if its off a little, but no glamorized nonsense.

5)The writer, producers, and directors-If I like one writer, Im the type of person who follows up on all of the individual's writing. Same goes for anything else. I like Miyazaki, so I not only watched one of his works, I watched all of the movies he produced, directed, wrote, and anything else he did. To me that is important. if you see one work that sucks, you might assume that all suck. It's not always the case. Some works are better than others, but also getting into all of the works allows the observer to appreciate the creator and the type of work you'll see. You might realize that you like some works you didn't think you'd like. You also learn about the person offering the material and realize some interesting tidbits. All good writers have parallel in their works somewhere, even me.

6) Music choices-When in movies/video games/shows etc-Music is everything. i love music that is orchestrated the most and kind of drawing, dark, mysterious, and often enchanting (like Imogen Heap or Utada)BUT I like all kinds of music. The music has to fit with the tone of the movie and the message (unlike Marie Antoinette. Who plays 80s music for a movie thats supposed to take place in the 1700s? lol). The music has to have variety. I don't mind mainstream, but if its common in too many other movies, it will not make the particular game/movie/etc stand out. In video games, I don't care if the music plays over and over, as long as it's good music. If it gets stuck in my head thats a good sign. But if it is unique and poetic that is even better.

6)Content and messages-Morals, messages, material presented, they are all important to an extent. I don't care if your movie is racist or if your book's moral is encouraging abortion. I don't, but I am not partial to material. I will, however, give you my honest opinion on the matter, but I want let it be the say all, as when someone is presenting a work of art in the media, they are expressing themselves, even if I don't like the content. If I feel a message is very strong, I will put emphasis on it. Subliminal messages included. Morals are good, especially for children. im a fan of satire (like Jonathon Swift, his ACTUAL book and Boondocks). I love opinionated people because it opens many different discussions.

7) Appeal-I don't care who the writer is trying to appeal to, but it is good to me when I see works that appeal to a wide variety of people. Really, the more open it is, the better. But it it is not suitable for all kinds of people (even age and race) it loses some points. Not all, just some. If a wide range of people can enjoy a movie (like Disney classics), then the magic is there and it won't be something you want to miss because it will be the talk of the town and you will be the one left behind. Movies that limit themselves to a smaller audience will lose out, especially if it isn't the pre-teen and teen crowd, which is the age of "hang outs."

8)Cast and Characters-How well-developed are the characters? Are there any useless characters? what is the purpose of the characters? Are there stereotypes? Do the characters seem fake or obvious? How unique are the personalities and lifestyles? Are they funny? Serious? Dramatic? Or quiet? do any character outshine the main characters in any way? Do any characters die/get removed/or are replaced in any adaptations or sequels?

These are the 8 points I consider when watching an anime, movie, or show, playing a video game, reading a book, magazine, newspaper, surfing online, or listening to music, this is how i can spot a good thing. I always get drawn by these elements, and it usually is what keeps me interested. Don't forget, Saturday is Spread the Word Saturday! Tell people about my journal!

~Over and Out~

BTW my rating scale is 1-10 10 Excellent 9 Very good 8-Good 7-fair/average 6-Ok 5-Could've been better 4-Good try....but... 3-bad 2-Very bad 1-Not worth a review! Horrifying!

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!