Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:55 p.m. - Tuesday, Nov. 29, 2011
Vampire Hunter D (8/10), Vampire Hunter D Bloodlust (10/10)
Okay, so I watched my next horror. Yea, it was a quickie. More like a movie. This time it was Vampire Hunter D. I remember seeing this back when I was 10 years old (even though I wasn't supposed to be watching this). Good times, Good times.

*The Following anime is for an ADULT audience, mature, and Rated R. Children under the age of 17 should not watch this, and on youtube you have to be 18 and older to see some parts anyway.*

Vampire Hunter D is what you would call classic anime. It has two movies.

Vampire Hunter D The Movie

This was the original, and it is from the '90s, so you know how all of the animes were back then: poor graphics, choppy stories, instant romance without development, and when it is for adults, so much focus on nudity. The main female character was of no use but to display her boobs. However, because the main character is D himself, we can expect him to be awesome. He certainly delivered. The story was full of enough plot twists to make it interesting, although a lot of them seemed to come out of nowhere without any building up moments or any clues. Some of the things seemed totally random and unexplainable, like how Greco was able to steal the vampire candle in the first place...But yea, it was pretty good. Many might disagree with me simply because this is the classic one, but I'm judging it based on what it is, not how old it is. I give it an 7/10.

Vampire Hunter D Bloodlust

Of the two movies, this is obviously the best one. One of the main reasons is because it has some modern touches. The graphics are better and the storyline is way better. The gore comes at all the right moments rather than unnecessary gore. Nudity isn't needed to make this good, which to me is normally a desperate attempt to make something seem more grown-up. I don't mind nudity, don't get me wrong, but when it's at unnecessary moments, it makes it seem forced. This movie didn't have it unnecessarily, in fact, it really didn't have any at all. The characters are far more interesting, and better developed. I also found the female main character to be of more use and more interest than the one in the first one. Not much was said about the first movie girl's past aside from her father being killed by vampires. The battles were interesting in the movie too. The traveling and the creatures they met had more character and more interesting traits than in the first, not to say the first movie didn't give us an interesting variety of creatures. But this movie was developed well. 10/10

~Over and Out~


 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!